Working Group on Situations

Mandate and membership

The Working Group on Situations (WGS) comprises of five members appointed by the regional groups from among the States members of the Council for the period of one year (mandate renewable once). It meets twice a year for a period of five working days in order to examine the communications transferred to it by the Working Group on Communications, including the replies of States thereon, as well as the situations which the Council is already seized of under the complaint procedure. The Working Group on Situations, on the basis of the information and recommendations provided by the Working Group on Communications, presents the Council with a report on consistent patterns of gross and reliably attested violations of human rights and fundamental freedoms and makes recommendations to the Council on the course of action to take.

The membership for the Working Group in 2017 is as follows:


H.E. Ms. Filloreta Kodra


H.E. Mr. Fu Cong


Mr. Rochus J.P. Pronk


H.E. Mr. Juan Esteban Aguirre Martinez


H.E. Ms. Nozipho Joyce Mxakato-Diseko

South Africa


In 2017, the Working Group on Situations held two sessions:

  • 30 January to 3 February (19th session)
  • 10 to 14 July (20th session)

In 2018, the Working Group on Situations will hold two sessions:

  • 29 January to 2 February (21st session)
  • 9 to 13 July (22nd session)


During its session, the Working Group on Situations may decide to:

  • dismiss a communication;
  • keep a communication under review and request the State concerned to provide further information within a reasonable time;
  • transmit the case to the Human Rights Council for further consideration.

In accordance with paragraph 106 of resolution 5/1, both the author of a communication and the State concerned, are informed of the proceedings at each stage.