Useful Information

Ratifications and Reservations

Country Mandates Established by the CHR/HRC

Open invitation to Special Procedures

Voluntary Pledges and Commitments

Members by region of the Human Rights Council

OHCHR in the Field

Regional Offices

Country Offices

Human Rights Components of Peace Missions

Human Rights Advisers

Action 2

Technical Cooperation Programme

National Human Rights Institutions


UN Human Rights Report 2017 UN Human Rights Report 2017
OHCHR Management Plan 2018-2021 OHCHR Management Plan 2018-2021
Brochure: Human Rights in action Human Rights in Action (PDF)
Working with the United Nations Human Rights Programme: A Handbook for Civil Society A Handbook for Civil Society (PDF)

Country Offices/Stand-alone Offices

OHCHR country offices/stand-alone offices are established on the basis of a standard agreement between OHCHR and the host government. The mandate of a country office/stand-alone office includes human rights observation, protection, technical cooperation activities and public reporting. Activities of a country office are developed in consultation with the concerned government, based on an assessment of human rights concerns and the capacity of national and international actors involved in human rights work, as well as on the most effective means available to OHCHR for addressing gaps. Country and stand-alone offices are mostly funded by voluntary contributions.

Country offices vary in size, depending on the phase of deployment and the nature of the work undertaken. They report annually to the High Commissioner, and their reports are presented to the Human Rights Council in accordance with their mandate either independently or as part of the High Commissioner’s report.

At the end of 2015, OHCHR had 14 country or stand-alone offices which are comprised of 13 country offices in: Bolivia, Burundi, Cambodia, Colombia, Guatemala, Guinea, Honduras, Mauritania, Mexico, the State of Palestine*, Tunisia, Uganda and Yemen, as well as one field-based structure in Seoul covering the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea.

*Reference to the State of Palestine should be understood in compliance with United Nations General Assembly resolution 67/19.

Details on the individual field presences can be found in the relevant sections of the Office Management Plan 2014-2017.

Africa region

Middle East and Northern Africa Region

Asia-Pacific region

Europe and Central Asia region

Americas region

Country Offices

State of Palestine*
Seoul (covering the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea)

Contact Information

Field Operations and Technical Cooperation Division (FOTCD)
All contacts are in Geneva, Switzerland.

Africa Branch
Tel. +41 22 917 92 50

Middle East and North Africa Section
Tel. +41 22 928 9153

Asia Pacific Section
Tel. +41 22 928 9650

Europe and Central Asia Section
Tel. +41 22 928 9291

Americas Section
Tel. + 41 22 928 9167

Peace Missions Support Section
Tel. +41 22 917 9220

National Institutions and Regional Mechanisms Section
Tel. +41 22 928 9467

Coordinator Voluntary Fund for Technical Co-operation
Tel. +41 22 928 9287

External Links

United Nations Peacekeeping
Department of Political Affairs
The Security Council
Peacebuilding Support Office
International Criminal Court
Geneva Conventions (ICRC)
Refugee Conventions (UNHCR)
National Institutions
Note: OHCHR is not responsible for the content of external links.