​Advisory Committee

Pursuant to Human Rights Council resolution 5/1, the Human Rights Council Advisory Committee (hereinafter "the Advisory Committee"), composed of 18 experts, has been established to function as a think-tank for the Council and work at its direction. The Advisory Committee replaces the former Sub-Commission on the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights. The Committee held its first meeting in August 2008. It meets twice a year, for one week in February immediately before the March session of the Council and for one week in August.

Next sessions

25th session of the Advisory Committee
15 February 2021 - 19 February 2021

Mandate & Functions

  • The Advisory Committee provides expertise to the Council in the manner and form requested by it. It mainly focuses on studies and research-based advice.
  • The Committee may also propose within the scope of the work set out by the Council, for the latter’s consideration and approval, suggestions for further research proposals.
  • In its work, the Committee should be implementation-oriented and the scope of its advice should be limited to thematic issues pertaining to the mandate of the Council, namely promotion and protection of all human rights.
  • It shall not adopt resolutions or decisions.


The Committee is composed of 18 independent experts from different professional backgrounds representing the various regions of the world (5 from African States; 5 from Asian States; 2 from Eastern European States; 3 from Latin American and Caribbean States, and 3 from Western European and other States). Experts are nominated by Governments and elected by the Council. Elections normally take place at the September session of the Council.

At its forty-second session, the Human Rights Council elected Advisory Committee members for the seven vacant seats. Of the seven vacancies, there were two from African States, one from Latin American and the Caribbean States, one from Western European and other States, two from the Asian and the Pacific States, and one from East European States.

Members serve for a period of three years and may be re-elected once. Their term of membership starts on 1 October of the year of their election.

The present composition of the Advisory Committee - with an indication of the expiration of the term of membership in brackets - is as follows: Ibrahim Abdulaziz Alsheddi* (Saudi Arabia, 2021); Mohamed Bennani* (Morocco, 2020); Lazhari Bouzid* (Algeria, 2022); Alessio Bruni (Italy, 2021); Milena Costas Trascasas (Spain, 2022); Ion Diaconu* (Romania, 2020); Ludovic Hennebel (Belgium, 2020); Yuriy Alexandrovich Kolesnikov (Russian Federation, 2022); José Augusto Lindgren Alves (Brazil, 2021); Xinsheng Liu* (China, 2022); Ajai Malhotra (India, 2020); Itsuko Nakai (Japan, 2022); Mona Omar* (Egypt, 2022); Javier Palummo (Uruguay, 2022); Elizabeth Salmón (Peru, 2020); Dheerujlall Baramlall Seetulsingh (Mauritius, 2020); Changrok Soh* (Republic of Korea, 2020); and Cheikh Tidiane Thiam (Senegal, 2021).

*Member serving second term