Header image for news printout

UN Committee Against Torture to review Mauritania, Russian Federation, Seychelles and Chile

GENEVA (19 July 2018) — The UN Committee Against Torture will meet in Geneva from July 23 to August 10, 2018 to review Mauritania, Russian Federation, Seychelles and Chile.

The above are among the 164 States parties to the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, and so are required to undergo regular reviews on how they are implementing the Convention and the Committee’s previous recommendations.

The public sessions will be held in the first floor conference room of Palais Wilson in Geneva on the following schedule:

10:00-13:00 Mauritania

Wednesday, July 25
10:00-13:00 Russian Federation
15:00-18:00 Mauritania

Thursday, July 26
15:00-18:00 Russian Federation

Monday, July 30
10:00-13:00 Seychelles
15:00-18:00 Chile

Tuesday, July 31
10:00-13:00 Seychelles
15:00-18:00 Chile

The Committee will publish its findings on the respective States on Friday afternoon, August 10 and hold a press conference (tbc).

The recommended hashtag for the meeting is #CAT64 and the sessions will be webcast live

Further information about the session is available here. For media accreditation, please see here.

For more information and media requests please contact Julia Gronnevet +41 (0) 22 917 9310 jgronnevet@ohchr.org 



The Committee Against Torture monitors States parties’ adherence to the Convention Against Torture. The Committee is made up of 10 members who are independent human rights experts drawn from around the world, who serve in their personal capacity and not as representatives of States parties. The Committee’s concluding observations are an independent assessment of States’ compliance with their human rights obligations under the treaty.

Follow the UN human rights office on social media! We are on Twitter @UNHumanRights, Facebook @unitednationshumanrights and Instagram @unitednationshumanrights